The Lies I Tell

The Lies I Tell cover image, a tense, claustrophobic psychological thriller by Joel HamesBy Joel Hames

SHE’S WATCHING YOU
BUT WHO’S WATCHING HER?

From the bestselling author of Dead North, a tense, claustrophobic psychological thriller perfect for fans of Lucy Foley, Claire McGowan and Clare Mackintosh.

Meet Polly. Meet Emily. Meet Belinda.

They’re all me. My name is Lisa and I’m an identity thief. If I’m not inside your system stealing your money, I’ve probably already stolen it. I’m your friend. I’m a thief. I’m gone.
I’m in control.

Only now, the tables have been turned. I’m in danger. My son is in danger. And I don’t know where that danger’s coming from.

Any friend.
Any enemy.
Any stranger.

Anyone from the past I’ve been trying to outrun for years.

NOBODY CAN BE TRUSTED.

Purchase The Lies I tell on Amazon

REVIEW

It takes a really good writer to get you rooting for someone you know is a criminal. Lisa scams people out of their money. She has numerous alter egos, all with their own emails and Facebook profiles, and carefully grooms people and sets them up to steal from them. Scummy behaviour. Gradually we get a peek into her past, the way she came to be as she is, the absolute love she has for her four year-old son and her terror of something bad happening to him. I loved the way she was set up for failure herself, how it happened and why. It’s an intriguing story where our own moral view is challenged and things are set on their head. It sucked me in from the start and spat me out at the other end feeling I’d really changed my view. A brilliant story. | Click here to see the review |